top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

AirTags - New iMacs & a new iPhone colour. My Thoughts and more.

Last week we got to see our first special Apple event of the year. Apple treated us to several updates including the launch of a new product range. As I’m a little late to the party of writing write ups I’ll get straight into it.


AirTags


Rumoured for over two years Apple finally announced their AirTags. This is something I have personally been waiting for. I have of course seen the Tile tags which have been around for some time now. I’m always misplacing my keys and wallet so Tile would have been ideal for me but then the rumours of Apple working on a similar system started to surface and I decided to wait as I’m already heavily invested in the Apple Ecosystem.

Now that they have finally announced them, I am overjoyed that the wait is over. AirTags become available to order last Friday and will be available in store on Friday the 30th. The devices in my opinion are cheaper then I thought they were going to be costing £29 for one tag or you can buy a pack of four for £99 (Costing £24.75 each) The cheapest tile costs £19.99 but this can go up to the pro version costing the same price or they sell a combo pack which is a pro tile and one that looks like a credit card to go in your wallet for £54.98[1]


I suspect that during this time Apple have spent a lot of time on R&D for the devices and their Find My network which is now open to third party devices because of this I suspect the profit margins aren’t actually that great for the devices but the accessories that you can buy with the AirTags are probably where the profit is at with the special loops that you can attach to your bag for example costing the same as the device and the leather key ring costing £34.99


I’ll be writing a review on the AirTags when they come this Friday and I look forward to opening them up.


AirTag Single - £29

AirTag 4 pack - £99

AirTag Loop - £29

AirTag Leather Key Ring - £35


iMac’s


As was expected we got to see newer M1 Apple Silicon computers at this event with Apple updating their iMac systems to feature the greatest chip in Macs for a long time. Not just that but the iMac got a massive redesign. My first reaction was that they looked so nice and then I saw the yellow colour and I was in love. I’ll admit I saw it and immediately wanted to sell my current iMac.

Now strangely the standard iMac which starts at £1,249 but only in the blue, green, pink or silver colours. If you want the yellow like I do you need to go with the £1,449 option. This option does also come with the 8 core GPU instead of the 7 core but it seems a little mad that you have to pay more for the yellow option. (Or orange and purple)


The new iMacs also feature a new redesigned keyboard with a special emoji key and TouchID being embedded into the keyboard. Not just that but the colour iMac you buy will match the colour of the keyboard. At the moment you don’t seem to be able to buy the coloured keyboards separately but hopefully soon they will.


Straps and more


Apple released some new watch straps as well unfortunately they aren’t any real interesting ones out this time. Hopefully when summer comes around, they will release a new Pollen like iPhone case and strap as I miss my one that I had for my iPhone X.


iOS 14.5 also came out this Monday and if you haven’t already downloaded, I recommended doing so when you can as it does feature some pretty cool new things. Read my blog post whilst you wait where I talk about my favourite bits. https://www.kylewilkinsononline.com/post/ios-14-5-coming-soon-what-s-it-like


Thanks for reading,


Kyle Wilkinson


[1] At the time of writing on www.uk.tile.com

[2] All images are from the Apple Newsroom site www.apple.com/newsroom

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page