top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

Apple Arcade - a review by Kyle.

Apple Arcade is the new gaming service released by Apple. Apple arcade claims to have games that redefine games now here’s my opinion of the service.


Apple Arcade was officially released last Thursday (19th September) along with iOS 13, and at the moment for consumers it is only available on iOS. I have been one of the lucky people who have had Apple Arcade since Tuesday 17th including on iPadOS.


So, what are my first impressions, well I am impressed. The service has turned out to be a lot better than I originally thought. The games are well built and have gorgeous designs. I started playing Mini Motorways, Patterened and tint on my iPhone X. These games were perfect for my morning commute. All of them very simple but make the morning commute a lot more joyful. I’ll give you an example with Mini Motorways.


In “Mini Motorways” the objective of the game is to build a road network so that the correct coloured cars can get to the correct coloured stores. Sounds simple and that’s because it is. However eventually there is more and more cars that start to clog up the road and the demand that the stores want builds up. This is where it becomes more tricky. The game ends when you cant deliver enough cars to the correct coloured store in time.



A game that is simple is yet so fun, I recommend it!


I have also been playing a lot of Apple Arcade games on my iPad (With the new iPadOS on developer beta.) The games I choose to play on my iPad were the more complex adventure games. I started with a game that Apple had been featuring a lot and that was Sayonara Wild Hearts”.


This game is very fast paced and if you blink you’d die on the level or miss out on some of them important points that grade how well you did on a level. Each level has a pop dance track that goes with it. During the game you are riding skateboards, having dance battles and even using an AR headset.



The developers of this game “Annapurna Interactive” I think they should release the soundtrack to the game for purchase or exclusive streaming on Apple Music, I’d listen to the music in my spare time and I’m sure others would too. The only negative I have about the game was that it did only take me 3 hours to complete the main game. However this is because I found the game very addictive and couldn’t put the game down. I’m sure if you were a hardcore gamer you’d take a little longer as you’d go for gold each level and then complete all the other extra bits.


Another game I played on my iPad was “Rayman Mini”. This game is like any of the other recent Rayman games. Great animation, Simple controls and adventurous levels. For this I decided to use my PlayStation controller. This is a new feature on iOS 13, iPadOS, tvOS 13 and MacOS Catalina, you can use a newer version of the Xbox Controllers or the PlayStation DualShock 4 controller. Connecting them was simple I just put the controller into pairing mode and selecting the controller in the Bluetooth settings on my iPad.


If you haven’t already I recommend signing up to the free trial of Apple Arcade. If you don’t like it you can cancel it straight away before the month is over, having said that as of now I am impressed and I do intend to keep the subscription when my trial ends in the middle of October. What really makes it the best is that you know that all of the games have 0 Adverts on them and 0 App In purchases. They are all FULL games and this is something which often feels rare on mobile games (and a lot of the time console games now as well).


Remember its £4.99 / $4.99 per month and that’s for the whole family to enjoy.

I look forward to seeing what other new games come to the service and to how the success of the service progresses.




Kyle Wilkinson

تعليقات

تم التقييم بـ ٠ من أصل 5 نجوم.
لا توجد تقييمات حتى الآن

إضافة تقييم
bottom of page