top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

Apple Arcade - One month on

On September the 19th Apple Arcade officially launched for iOS devices and now one month later Apple Arcade is available across the entire Apple ecosystem. When Apple Arcade was first released to developers and beta testers on the Tuesday the 17th I wrote a blog post on my initial thoughts which you can read here


I mentioned in my previous review an arcade game called “Mini Motorways” and one month on this is a game I still play on average of every other three days. I do enjoy it and they have been doing some bug updates every so often. However each level has a very small goal and that’s to achieve 250 points. Hopefully one day they will update this and make a bigger goal because I can see some people may start to find it boring. I do have faith they will.


Apple Arcade makes a great direction for tvOS and with PlayStation and XBOX controller compatibility games on the Apple TV now feel more like games you would find on a PS4 or an XBOX. In a years time it will be exciting to see what new games will be brought, games that could compete with the blockbusters you see today. Maybe.


MacOS, late to the party Apple Arcade is finally available for the MacOS along with the MacOS Catalina update and it was surprisingly smoother then I thought and when I installed Mini Motorways on my iMac I realised the great potential iCloud brings to Apple Arcade. With iCloud and Apple Arcade you can start a level on your iPhone, maybe on the bus home for example. Then its time to get off the bus so you pause your game and get in your house. Not quite finished you decide to complete the level on your MacBook or TV and its as simple as opening the game, with iCloud.

Apple advertise that games can be “Downloaded to play online or off” however I have had now an issue with three different games that fail to load past the Apple Arcade splash screen. I have been looking at forums on MacRumours and Google and I can’t find any other people documenting issues so maybe its just my device.


Right now my Apple Arcade has just renewed for another month. £4.99 per month for loads of games across all my Apple devices with no In-App purchases and no advertising is really great and the trial of Apple Arcade has really wowed me unlike the trial of Apple News+ but that’s a different story.


What do people think, 9to5Mac wrote a post [1] on the October the 6th where they did a poll on what people thought about Apple Arcade. They had a total of 5,933 votes They had a total of 5,933 votes and 22.74% said they were “Very Impressed, I’ll subscribe”. Giving a total of 42.58% that said they will subscribe after the one month trial.


I look forward to how Apple Arcade and Apples other services will be going forward in the years to come but what I do know is that Apples Services seem to be the way forward for Apple as a company.


Follow me on Twitter for more of my thoughts and check out the rest of my Website and blog for my other Apple news.


Kyle Wilkinson


Read my other post about Apple Arcade:


Apple Arcade – A review by Kyle


References:

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page