top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

iOS 13 - Hands on! (An opinion)

Good evening, this is my hands on write up of iOS 13. At the moment I have iOS 13 Developer Beta 01 installed on my iPhone X and have been running it for about a week and a half, First let’s look at the key new features. You can check out my gallery of screenshots at the bottom of the post.


Dark Mode

The one everyone has been asking for, In my opinion dark mode took so long to arrive because of Apples key eye to detail. Every screen, every button and every character has been redesigned and optimized to look its best for the greatest mobile operating system in the world. As you can see in the pictures below the dark mode is applied system wide and can be easily configured to come on automatically with sunset and sunrise or it can be manually triggered in the control center in the same place as you would for Night Shift or True Tone.


Reminders

Reminders was completely rebuilt from the ground up! With a new more organized home screen. The app automatically groups your reminders in to four new categories. These are Today, Scheduled, All and Flagged. Some other great new minor features is that you can now do subtasks with one task, add photos and even set the reminder to do a push notification when your messaging a person. If like me you’re a user of reminders you’re going to love the changes.


Health

This Application has had a major revamp! And in my opinion I’m not very fond of the changes. The app has been made to be even simpler, with only two buttons along the bottom now. Summary and search. As you can see in the screenshots, this is now the main page of the app. I have a “Noise notification” from my Apple watch however interestingly that was from when I was in the shower and water must of hit the microphone (So I never actually heard a db of that level) You can get your favorites on the summary page and then press “Show all health data” to see your data which goes in order of most recent.


Photos

Photos app has been redesigned, with a new view of your photos. You can see in the screenshots the month and days views from my recent trip to America. Apple claim that these views will reduce the clutter and I could see that as there was no screenshots ect in this view only in the All Photos view.


Other changes I noticed:

First of all iOS 13 has a lot of under the hood changes to make it even faster and Apple claimed in there keynote that Face ID unlocks 3x Faster and this is noticeable in day to day use. (Even though it is beta 1) but there is a lot of other changes here’s a list of my favorite ones!

- Finally an non-disruptive sound notification (Although it was nice having the nostalgia it did get in the way of games and videos.)

- No more 3D touch, I’m actually quite sad, It puzzled me at first it not being there as I kept trying to use it and nothing happened however after a week I’m starting to get used to the change.

- Home, There’s been a few UI changes in the home app that makes it look a little better.

- Find My, The app that replaces Find My iPhone and Find my friends. The change is nice and the app looks a lot more like newer versions of iOS.

- Music, There a redesigned now playing screen, a new live lyrics mode (This is on the Apple TV to and I’m sure it will look great) and you can no longer swipe up to see your up next, this has also been redesigned.

Anyway this Is my small write up of things I liked in iOS 13. There is a lot more changes in this version of iOS however some big some small. The public beta will be out soon however when iOS 13 launches in the fall I absolutely encourage you to download it, you’re going to love it.


Until next time,


Kyle Wilkinson



Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
bottom of page