top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

My iOS 14 & WatchOS 7 Wishlist.

This year’s WWDC is now less than a month away and is going to be Apples first Virtual WWDC due to the global epidemic. It will be very interesting to see how it pans out. Apple are still very likely to announce their newest editions of iOS and WatchOS and with this I thought I would do a personal Wishlist of features or improvements I would like to see.

iOS 14 / iPadOS 14 wishes:

Phone calls not taking the whole screen

When you get a phone call the whole phone interrupts what you’re doing and displays who’s calling but wouldn’t it be cool if you had the option of a notification-based system when someone was calling and could be answered (or ignored) from there.

Noticed I said it could be optional meaning you could decide in settings if you wanted it that way or the current system and when the phone was locked it would use the current system not the notification.

Activity notifications on iPhone

If your apple watch user you know that you get notification’s throughout the day telling you to “Keep it going” or “Competition update” with friends but I think it would be cool if we also got these notification’s on the phone for when we are using the phone. A lot of the time I actually miss these notifications because I didn’t look at my previous watch notification’s.

Activity & Health on iPad

I would love to be able to see my Activity workouts and health data on my iPad. It’s actually quite annoying that it’s not on the iPad. Hopefully this year we will see it come, it could be all synced securely via iCloud.

WatchOS 7 wishes:

Activity Trends notification’s

Concept of an Apple Watch Trends notification

Originally released last year as part of WatchOS 6 Activity trends was an extension of the Activity rings system but I don’t think we hear enough of it. At the moment we have to manually check the app on the iPhone and on the watch, there is 0 mention of it.

So, my wish is that you would get notifications on your Apple Watch letting you know when your trends are looking like they are heading down and when it has flipped down. What would be the icing on the cake although I very much doubt it would happen is if we would get a way of viewing our trends on the watch, separating the watch from the phone even more.

Being able to see our “Stand minutes”

Stand minutes were introduced with Activity trends in iOS 13 but at the moment you can only see average stand minutes during your past 90 days of activity. It would be pretty cool to be able to see our daily average in the same place we see our daily steps.

An Apple Watch Notes App

It would be amazing to get the notes app on your Apple Watch. My concept was that you could create a new note on the watch by dictating what you want to write, after that you get a notification pop up on your nearby device (iPhone or iPad) and you can continue editing it from there.

Sleep tracking

This would be amazing and is a feature which the watch is lacking in. A lot of the smart watch competitors already have sleep tracking and hopefully this year we may see it. My only worry with it is that Apple are going to need to improve the battery life of the watch as I like many others charge my watch when I go to sleep. If sleep tracking was introduced, I may change that to a time when I’m watching TV for example.

Those are just some of my wishes for the latest updates and we won’t have much longer to wait to find out what some of the new changes will be with Apple hosting their first virtual WWDC soon on the 22nd of June.

I’m interested to what everyone else is looking for with this year’s updates, I’d love to hear from you! So please feel free to tweet me @kylewilkinson46 www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46

Thanks for reading

Kyle Wilkinson



REVIEW: Strava Summit (Premium)

https://www.kylewilkinsononline.com/post/review-strava-summit

Apple Watch Activity Rings:

Get fit & Organised with Apple this 2020:

Apple Watch Sport Loops

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page