top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

REVIEW: One Week With Series 4 Apple Watch.

It's been one week since the iPhone XS or XS Max and Apple Watch Series 4 has been released. I went down to Reading to pick up the new series 4 Apple Watch. Before I owned this watch I had a series 0 Apple Watch so I was already familiar with how the Apple Watch worked. Here is my review on the watch one week after setting it up.



The Series 4 has a phenomenal screen, the edge to edge display makes the device feel much larger then it was before even though the case is the same size. (Which is why the old 38mm bands work with the 40mm) The screen is also brighter and more clear.


The New Fall detection feature is off by default if your under 65, this does make sense as when you do enable it Apple warns you that more physically active users may cause it to accidentally go off. I've enabled this feature but have not fallen yet or seen it go off.


The Haptic Feedback digital crown is another brilliant feature that they have introduced, The device feels much more responsive when you are scrolling down on the workout app or through iMessages.


Apple announced ECG coming to the Apple Watch, If you live in the US this feature is likely to come before the end of this year via a Watch OS update. However if you live in the UK like me the App isn't very likely to come for a long time.


And finally the new watch faces are improved. With the new screen sizes you can get more on the screen. My favorite the Modular watch face, now has more vibrant and detailed complications. The new Infrograph watch face is very good if you love looking at complications however from using it for a day I feel like there's too much going on and you didn't know where to look. When I wanted information from a complication quickly like the temperature, I found myself looking for where to find it. Maybe if I gave it more time it might of been alright but I've gone back to the new Modular face as that's easier for work.


In summery I think if you have an Apple Watch Series 0 or 1, Upgrading is a must. Going from a series 0 now allows me to take it swimming, go running without my phone as it now has GPS. The watch is also so much more responsive, opening apps is no longer greeted with the spinning App icon screen. I would 10/10 recommend the upgrade.


Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page