top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

The WWDC23 Keynote I Summary & Initial Thought's

Last week Apple announced a bunch of cool new things with at least 8 different announcements it’s a wonder how they kept it all to 2 hours. I want to firstly look at iOS


I’m sure we can all agree in comparison to last year iOS 17 for sure has a lot less features, but I think this is okay because for sure this year’s update includes a bunch of enhancements to the current system.


What I like in iOS 17?


Simple one first and that’s the removal of “Hey Siri”

Now it is just “Siri” like Alexa. Whilst this does seem small on paper to get the function working in the background it would have required a fair bit of work.


Next is the Music app. When iOS 17 launches officially we will get collaborative playlists to create playlists with other AM users. Most importantly though Music now supports crossfade for between songs! (A feature that I’ve wanted for a long time)


The Home Screen now gets widgets which are interactive, predictive text is even better & can even finish your sentences.


What don’t I like with iOS 17?


Don’t really feel like there’s been much more improvement on the dynamic island. I expected a little bit more customisation on the lock screen and I was hoping for a redesigned music app to be honest.


The new phone card system thing for your “Phone Book” seems a bit like a gimmick to me.


I’ll be going a lot more in depth after I’ve used iOS 17 for a week or so, so keep an eye out for that.


watchOS 10 - The highlight of the "Software" updates!


This is the 10th rendition of watchOS and to be honest this year WatchOS is a bigger headline act than iOS.


WatchOS 10 features are completely redesigned operating system. Each app has been looked at tweaked redesigned and it looks a lot brighter. Cooler & smarter. When you get a phone call, even that screen has been redesigned. It’s more customised and brighter. No longer is it a black screen with just the name of the contact in white text. check out on the right some screenshots from WatchOS 10, You can see the beauty in the new operating system just by images.


In terms of new features all of the new contact features from iOS 17 are here as well as all the new mental wellbeing features.


A simple change I love is you can press the side button to bring up the control centre or keep it as is it’s up to you.


There’s a bunch of new mapping & hiking tools which I’m going to talk about in a post all about WatchOS 10 but more in-depth.


Hardware:


Traditionally, we don’t get to see hardware at WWDC however, oh boy weren’t we treated. The keynote started with us getting a brand-new 15-inch MacBook Air then there was an update to the Mac studio and finally the Mac Pro got a well needed update. This also completed Apple’s journey on the transition to Apple silicon.


The keynote ended with Tim Cook, and the iconic one more thing line. This part of the keynote was one of those remember where you were in moments as Apple finally announced their VR / AR headset!

Named the Apple vision pro it’s truly something spectacular. Going to be writing, a more in-depth look at the glasses themselves in a couple of weeks, so keep an eye for that. the one thing I want to comment on though for now is the price. the glasses start at $3499 and personally I say fair enough to that price. when you consider the hardware, you’re getting the years of research and development that have gone into this device which, as you can clearly see from the videos is something spectacular I think it’s fair enough. Also taken into consideration it's a device made by Apple if you fall the device was gonna be a grand, then you clearly don’t have the right expectations there.


This post is just a quick summary of all the announcements, but I will be spreading my thoughts more and more each day. Check out my Twitter www.twitter.com/KyleWilkinson46 I’m testing out the beta’s as well, and I’ll let you know my thoughts as time progresses.


If you really want to see more and in a different format. Check out this video I’ve uploaded to my YouTube channel. Even more thought’s then above and possibly the most different / quirky “Tech” review video you’ve seen online.

Check it out on my YouTube here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ub9IOcG1eyY

Thanks for reading,


Kyle Wilkinson


 

Twitter – Talking about Apple but to be honest all sorts of small geeky things & running – www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46


Instagram – Everything worth sharing from my #ShotOniPhone only collection – www.instagram.com/kylewilkinson53


YouTube – Sometimes I talk on here instead of writing it down & See my Apple opinions in the most different way around - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC89S8ERNGsvZlZoesLCMGKA


Interested in purchasing some of my digital Photography work? (Or just wanna take a look) I’m on 3 different digital photography portfolio sites so take a look at them all!





Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page