top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

What we know about iOS 17 SO FAR & My iOS 17 Wishlist

I’ll admit I did want to be writing this a little earlier but with WWDC 2023 taking place next week between the 5th of June till the 9th of June It’s not too late!


As always this year’s WWDC is kicking off with the annual keynote starting at 18:00BST (10:00PT) followed by The State of the Union at 21:30BST (13:30PT). Apple have already previewed some new accessibility features coming to iOS 17 including a feature where it can actually learn your voice (Or a partners) and speak out loud for you! Showing some positive ways that AI can be used for good. You can check Apple’s full preview here on there Newsroom. - https://www.apple.com/uk/newsroom/2023/05/apple-previews-live-speech-personal-voice-and-more-new-accessibility-features/ [1]


What have the rumours been saying about iOS 17?


The first cool thing I’m seeing across the web that is being rumoured is that in iOS 17 you will be able to turn your iPhone in to a personal smart home interface. Similar to a device like a Echo Show (Made by Amazon) or a Google Home hub. The disappointing thing about the rumours with this is that the feature would only work with the MagSafe charging stand & would only work on the iPhone. Which is a shame hopefully you’ll be able to use any charger. I also think it would be cool to turn an old iPad Mini in to such a device which nis why I hope the feature is not an iPhone exclusive. [2]


In a MacRumours they wrote about a series of changes that are rumoured to be coming to the lock screen. The lock screen was majorily overhauled last year so changes to it this year are likely to be a lot more minior. MacRumours talk about how we could see some more fonts added (The one’s to change the clock font). It’s possible we will be able easily share lockscrees we create with friends. (A feature which I think would be surprisingly popular as you can get very creative creating lockscreens) Something simalir also exists already but for the Apple Watch. You can easily share Watchfaces with friends. With the introduction of the Dyancmic Island last year with the iPhone 14 Pro it is also likely that we will see some new features added with this too. [3]


Lastly, I think I’ve been seeing rumoured the longest and most is iOS 17, getting a brand-new control centre. There’s been some concepts posted online as well. I reckon it is likely to get updated slightly. It hasn’t been updated really for a long time now, but for me I see absolutely nothing wrong with the current control centre.


My iOS 17 Wishlist


I’ll start my Wish List by talking about apples services apps, for example, the music app. Personally I’m subscribed to Apple one personal subscription. So I use a lot of these apps. Firstly, the Apple TV app is good over it does and it’s brilliant on the Apple TV itself. However, the iOS version it is just too cluttered and very confusing to navigate. It’s like an app that is not made by Apple. I think if you weren’t that clued up on technology, and you were the Apple TV+ subscriber would find the current app very confusing to use. The music app really has anything to complain about the only feature I would like to see added is the ability to Crossfade between songs, something that’s been on the music app for android for a few years now.


On my lock screen there is one thing that really annoys me because I feel like I make the same mistake all the time and that is when I’m using the torch, I end up suddenly in darkness because if you ever so slightly swipe left on the screen the camera actives which turns the torch off. That needs to go or be an option instead. It would be cool as well to see a ton more native widgets added and for them to come to the iPad.


Lastly, I really want to see even more native apps making use of that Dynamic Island. Even though the feature is something so simple, I love it and I really want to see what they can do with it.


Whilst new features are always a awesome gift. There’s not much else I would change about my iPhone. It’s perfect. (Yes, I would love to run two apps on my screen at the same time as Android can but I do not think that’s coming any time soon)


You can watch the live stream of the keynote pretty much anywhere online on Monday. Just Google “Apple WWDC keynote” and you will be able to find it.


I’ll be watching and will be tweeting my thoughts on everything along the way! So if you haven’t already check out my Twitter here and join in! www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46 Whilst WWDC is generally a “Software” based event. This year it does seem that we may get a bit of hardware with Apple very likely to be announcing the launch of their VR headset this year. [4] And just check out this concept based on patents and all sorts of reports https://9to5mac.com/2023/05/31/reality-pro-headset-design-concept/ [5]


Thanks for reading,


Kyle Wilkinson

 

Twitter – Talking about Apple but to be honest all sorts of small geeky things & running – www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46


Instagram – Everything worth sharing from my #ShotOniPhone only collection – www.instagram.com/kylewilkinson53


YouTube – Sometimes I talk on here instead of writing it down & See my Apple opinions in the most different way around - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC89S8ERNGsvZlZoesLCMGKA


Interested in purchasing some of my digital Photography work? (Or just wanna take a look) I’m on 3 different digital photography portfolio sites so take a look at them all!



 

[2] – 9to5Mac iOS 17 Smart Home Device - https://9to5mac.com/2023/05/24/ios-17-iphone-features/

[3] – MacRumors iOS 17 Article - https://www.macrumors.com/roundup/ios-17/


Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page