top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

a review on the macOS app, "Magnet"

Well, I totally forgot to write something last month and before I even realised it, It became March, already! I don’t even like to feel where the year has gone because it feels like time is just flying past me. I did start writing this blog post last month but sadly due to other commitments couldn’t get around to finishing it.


My blog post this month is also slightly different to post’s I normally write about, So what is it?


Well, I’ve written a review on an application and it’s a MacOS Application! It’s all about an application which in my opinion I simply can’t live without on my Mac and If on the rare occasion I decide to restart my MacBook I guarantee you within 2 minutes I’ll notice it’s not open. (I am aware that I could set some automations up to stop myself from even doing that but it’s not worth the effort for me when I consider how often I restart my Mac.)


Around 5 years ago I eventually made the move to Mac from Microsoft Windows. Before that move I had probably been using Windows for pretty much most of my life. Most of that time with Microsoft Windows XP and after that a decent 5 years with the incredibly popular Windows 7.

Windows 7 introduced with it a feature called “Snap” or “Smart Window” which allowed the user to quickly grab the top of a window on the program and quickly maximise it or snap two different programs next to each other in a split second or you could you do it even quicker then that using just keyboard shortcuts.

It was something I had gotten very used to using and is something you’d probably take for granted today. So when I eventually moved to the Mac 5 years ago and I discovered that this simple feature didn’t exist. I was gutted. However, after a google because at the time I was really hoping that I was just being stupid and somewhere buried in system preferences was the feature and I just turned it on. No was the answer but I did come across the app “Magnet”.


So before I go any further I am going to now have to say that yes. You have to pay for this app, it is not a free one. At the time of writing the app is available on the Mac App Store for £7.99 [1] and that is a price that I’m sure would make a lot of you immediately turn away but if you sound like you’re like me in that story above then I really do recommend taking the plunge and paying for it.



Whilst writing this review I didn’t want to waffle on so already this is a summary of the review. If you’re a power user of “The Desktop” experience and you’re moving from Microsoft Windows. This is a must have & if you still need a final piece of convincing then check out the reviews on the Mac App store it’s self as it currently has a rating of 4.9 out of 5!


Magnet – Organize Your Workspace

MacOS Application - £7.99 [1]


Thanks for reading,


Kyle Wilkinson

 

Twitter – Talking about Apple but to be honest all sorts of small geeky things & running – www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46


Instagram – Everything worth sharing from my #ShotOniPhone only collection – www.instagram.com/kylewilkinson53


YouTube – Sometimes I talk on here instead of writing it down & See my Apple opinions in the most different way around - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC89S8ERNGsvZlZoesLCMGKA

 

[1] – This was correct on 07/03/2023 on the UK edition of the Mac App Store.

[2] – Photo’s in this blogpost are screenshots from the MacOS App Store, taken on 13/03/2023. Full rights of the images go to the Magnet Team, for more information about them check them out on their official website here; Magnet – Window manager for Mac (crowdcafe.com)






Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
bottom of page