top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

Apple's September Event 'Wonderlust' - It's Next Week!

It’s that time of year again where Apple host there annual September event which often show’s us what’s coming soon in 2 of Apple’s greatest devices, the iPhone, and the Apple Watch. Often, we see some other devices announced too as well as another preview of the next generation in iOS.


When is the Keynote & how can I watch?


The actual keynote will be streamed live on Apple’s website on Tuesday 12th of September at 18:00 BST (10:00 EST). You can easily find the video by heading to Apple’s website at the time of the event. Alternatively, you can watch the event on YouTube by heading to this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiP1l7jlIIA


With the event nearly here, it’s time to talk about what I’m hoping for as well as my opinion on some of the more likely rumours which are around online.


The “Dynamic Island”


Last year with the “Pro” edition of the iPhone’s we saw the launch of the “dynamic island” on the iPhone 14 Pro. It has been well received by people who’ve bought the iPhone 14 Pro including myself I love the combination of software & hardware working together. (The removal of that “20% Battery” pop-up as well makes it worth it just from that)


A year later & one of the likely selling points that we’re going to be seeing this year for the iPhone is the dynamic island coming to the introductory iPhone range (The iPhone 15). This is awesome & will make a lot of people upgrade to the next generation of the iPhone I think and if you’re not sure about upgrading if the “Dynamic Island” comes to the iPhone 15, it will be worth it!


USB-C


When it comes to lightning port & it’s replacement to USB-C I’m staying out of the rumours this year on this one and I’m just waiting to see what they announce. My reason for this is because for the past two years it has been heavily rumoured that the next iPhone will get the replacement to USB-C and nothing still lightning.


Do I want to see Apple make the move to USB-C for the iPhone?


Now that’s a different question and I like many people who are tech-savvy abousltey want Apple to finally make the move. Not only will it be easier for me as I’ll be able to charge my phone off the same lead as my MacBook in the long run it makes just so much more sense in an environmental to have 1 universal charging lead which not only is the same for my MacBook & iPhone but also non-Apple devices. (Just 1 example is my Nintendo Switch but to be honest more and more devices these days ARE using USB-C.)


The” Action Button”


The action button is an actual hardware feature which was first released with the Apple Watch Ultra at last year’s annual September event and so far it is currently the only device which ships with such feature. This year though that may change with the action button being rumoured to be coming to the ‘Pro’ generations of the iPhones.


This is something I would personally be very excited to see come to the iPhone. Currently on the AWU the action button is essentially a shortcut to launch a certain app. Sadly at the time of writing the AWU’s action button can only launch 7 set feature’s on the right is a screen shot from Apple’s Support page.


The Apple Watch


Now this year even at the time of writing (08/09/2023) I have managed to avoid all rumours regarding the Apple Watch including somehow all mentions of it when browsing through X.


Now I’ve done this for a very good reason and that is because this year is a very big year for the Apple Watch. It is the ten-year anniversary of the Apple watch this year! Which if I really do start to think about it really does simply blow my mind with how quick that time has gone and how the Apple Watch has really grown into such a key product to Apple like it is today!


So this year with the big anniversary coming up it is very likely that we really will see some major changes to the device. Big ones that may also completely change how we use the device. Just think back to 2017 with the iPhone 10-year anniversary. The edge-to-edge screen, the change from Touch-ID to Face-ID and the removal of that icon we got so used to seeing on our devices “The Home Button”.


Other Thing’s I Reckon We May See


Given the recent announcement of what is going to be a major product for Apple during this year’s WWDC keynote event I do think that it is pretty much a given that Tim Cook will also be giving us another demo of the Apple Vision Pro. Even if it’s things we have already seen.


With the official launch of iOS 17 & WatchOS 10 also coming up during the month its likely we’ll get another small teaser of latest in the operating systems as well as finding when the launch date will be. I had been running the developer beta and used it every day as my primary device. After that I wrote a review of what I thought which you can read here –

“One Month into iOS 17 – Time for the review”.


Thanks For Reading,


Kyle Wilkinson



* * * * *


References:


[ 1 ] – Apple Support – Use the action button on Apple Watch Ultra – Screengrab was taken on 08/09/2023 Since this date the page may of changed. For the latest correct information go to the source’s page here - https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT213335#:~:text=How%20to%20set%20up%20the%20Action%20button%20on,Tap%20the%20arrow%20to%20go%20back.%20More%20items


6 views

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page