top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

February 2020 - Apple Watch Activity Journal

When I look back at my month on my activity app on how this month has been it looks a little disappointing however with all things considered I think it’s actually quite successful. During February we’ve had three different storms out of the 5 of possible weekends. I had a cold which resulted in me not going out for a run for almost two weeks and we’ve had 40 cases now of the Coronavirus.


Anyway, I’m going to stop talking about illnesses now and talk about one thing I did do which was very exciting. Me, Kieran and a few friends we went to the capital of Poland Warsaw to complete a parkrun beginning with the letter Z. Which for Kieran was his last letter he needed to complete the Alphabet challenge.


The parkrun we went to was called “Zalew Zyrardowski” and was located around an hour away from Warsaw in a town called “Zyrardow”. The course was mainly flat tarmac with only a little section being on a track path around the lake but the course itself was beautiful. You can see the pictures of the parkrun course below which is also a little misleading as it looks like a beautiful summer’s day and its true the weather was nice, but it was -4 so freezing and I was running in shorts!



The hospitality was lovely from the volunteers who got us all gifts as they knew we coming as well as a refreshing warm cup of tea afterwards. Following this the run director gave us a tour of the town and we went for a coffee and a cake in a café she recommends. If you want to hear more about this trip you can listen to this podcast linked here called “With Me Now” which is an unofficial parkrun podcast.


Let’s take a look at how I did with my goals on my Apple watch this month.


GOAL ACHIEVED – FEBRUARY CHALLENGE


February Month Challenge Apple Watch

This month’s Activity challenge was a little harder than the last month. This month I had to

walk or run 167.0 miles which is an average of 5.76 miles per day and I won’t like it did come close to failing a challenge already at start of the year as I completed this challenge on the 28th of February with just one day spare.



Heart month challenge apple watch

GOAL ACHIEVED – HEART MONTH CHALLENGE


We got another limited edition challenge this month not sure if it’s called heart month to improve your cholesterol or because of valentine’s day being in February. Probably the latter given the challenge. To earn this achievement, you had to close your exercise ring 7 days in a row between the 8th of February and the 14th.


During this month I also completed another three different parkruns, Oxford parkrun which is another local one to me and then Andover parkrun and Aylesbury which was at the time one of the closest parkruns to me despite being around a 45 minutes’ drive away. This was due to all the storms that resulted in all the parkruns around Oxfordshire being cancelled.


Got to say thank you to Aylesbury parkrun for still going ahead, as you can see in the picture and video below it was like running through a river at one stage and I can also confirm that the original AirPods are waterproof as I actually knocked my right AirPod in to the water and it works fine. Whoops.



Due to work commitments Its going to be a harder month to complete parkruns but I won’t be letting it get in the way of completing my other Apple watch goals. As we move away from the beginning of the year now the weather should also be improving with it also getting brighter at night. I’m also hoping to achieve a perfect month in March check back to read next month’s Apple Watch Fitness Journal to see how I get along.





Until Next time


Kyle Wilkinson


Read Last months edition of my Apple Watch Fitness Journal:

Read my other Apple fitness related posts here:

Apple Watch Activity Rings:

Get fit & Organised with Apple this 2020:

10 parkruns at 10 different parkruns:

14 views

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page