top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

January 2021 Activity Journal

A year ago, the world was in a completely different place. I started off 2020 completing two back to back parkruns, a feat I never thought would be possible for myself and yet I did it. This year is obviously quite different. Originally Parkrun had said that you wouldn’t be able to do two parkruns on New years day. Little did they know when they said that, that you wouldn’t even be able to do one.


Just like last year I plan to keep going with the running and keeping fit and using the maximum advantage behind the technology of the Apple Watch. Unlike last year the Apple watch can tell us even more health information*1 from things like our Blood oxygen to our average cardio fitness levels. As you can see in the screenshot mine is “Below average”. Maintaining an above average level of cardio fitness can improve the long-term outlook of your health. (That’s what it says in the health app).


This year I’ve set myself some simple targets to achieve related to different categories. First being Strava. I want to run 500 miles and then cycle 500 more. A joke obviously as it’s meant to be a spin on a line from the song 500 miles by The Proclaimers. When it comes to the Apple Watch I want to ensure that I complete every monthly activity challenge that the watch throws at you.


If you didn’t already know every month the Activity (Fitness) app will give you a customised challenge which will be challenging but also achievable. There is always a community discussion on what challenges people have been getting. Take a look at Februarys column here on MacRumors: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/february-2021-activity-challenge.2282774/


So, let’s look at my first month of 2021:


GOAL ACHIEVED: January Activity challenge


This January I had to burn a total of 15,200 active calories. This was an average of 490.32 a day. At the beginning of the month my Move goal was 460 however to help achieve this badge I set it too 500. I won’t lie I was lacking a little bit of motivation at the beginning of the month which meant I needed to change it too 600 but the good news is on the last day I did achieve the goal.


In the beginning of the year Apple did host their first Limited edition challenge of the year. Helping you start of the year right you had to close all three of your rings, 7 days in a row. Sadly, I didn’t achieve this.


If your new to Apple watch or the Apple Watch community, you may see me call things like Fitness the activity app. This is because before iOS 14 the App was called Activity. Little did we know when they announced this change that it was to make way for the new Fitness+ service. You may also hear me say Active calories this is because this is what Apple used to call calories you had burnt by moving about. Now the app simply says Calories.


Here’s too staying fit in 2021 and closing our rings. If you want to share your fitness journey or Apple watch journey, share with me by getting in touch on Twitter here: www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46


Thanks for reading


Kyle Wilkinson


Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
bottom of page