top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

March 2020 - Apple Watch Activity Journal

March, March, March. What a month it has been. I don’t really know where to start when it comes to writing this months Activity journal. This month I planned to go for the “Perfect Month” on my Apple Watch and it should have been a piece of cake. However, as I’m sure a lot of you know the country is rightly so in a lockdown to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

If you haven’t already read it I wrote a piece about how you could keep fit at home using just your iPhone and I recommend checking it out here https://www.kylewilkinsononline.com/post/self-isolating-keep-fit-with-just-your-iphone

So, this month’s fitness journal of mine is likely going to be a bit more boring however in a way I’ve been doing my best to make the most of the situation. The past two weeks where we have been on lockdown, I’ve actually gone for a run nearly every day (I missed one day) as it was the only time, I could go out the house.

I mentioned attempting to complete the perfect month. Something I still haven’t managed to do ever in the three years of having my Apple watch. It was going so well and then literally in the middle of the month (15th) I lost it. I woke up on the 16th and saw that I was missing just 15 active calories from my move goal, I was devastated. However, you should never let these things let you down forever and I was happy to say that in the month I actually achieved a record amount of times all Three rings were closed for a day at 71% of the month.

Let’s take a look now at the Apple Watch Activity Goals for March:

GOAL ACHIEVED: March Activity Challenge.


This month I had to close my Stand ring 24 times. Sounds simple and that’s because it should be. However, I actually nearly missed it. In the last two weeks of March where I was spending more and more time at home I kept forgetting to stand and I realised on the 25th that if I missed one more day, I was going to fail the challenge. Not something I was going to let happen obviously and I completed it on the 30th with one day spare!

For those of you wondering what the Stand ring entails. All you got to do is Stand for at least one minute, in 12 hours of the day.


GOAL ACHIEVED: International Women’s Day 2020 Limited Edition Challenge.

Every year Apple likes to do an IWD challenge as one of the many ways that they like to celebrate IWD and this year was no different. This year you had to complete a 20-minute Run, Walk or Wheelchair workout. There’s a funny story regarding this and that’s that on the 7th (Day before) it was parkrun day and they were doing special IWD events, so I assumed that it was IWD this day. I went for run that afternoon to complete the challenge as I was at work in the morning. I later discovered that IWD was not the 7th but the 8th. So, I had to go out and do the run again. Gets the miles in I guess ha-ha.

Parkruns, Now I didn’t actually do any parkruns in March unfortunately. Due to work commitments there was only one I was able to do in the month anyway and that was on the 21st at the Millennium Country parkrun near Millbrook. However, this was cancelled due to COVID-19 as they should have been as right now, we don’t want any gatherings.

This noted I decided to use Strava more and more. At the moment I’m staying at home just like Boris has said to do. This month I’m going to be using Strava a lot to make sure my activity goals are being completed. I’ve also purchased Strava’s Premium features called “Summit” for £6.99 per month and in a month’s time I will be writing a review on it. So, keep an eye out for that.

Thanks for reading my March update on my “Apple Watch Activity Journal” In seriousness though please stay at home and Only go out for essentials or for that One exercise a day.

Have a good April, keep indoors, keep active and keep positive.

Kyle Wilkinson

Read Last month’s Journal (February):

Read more of my Apple Watch health related posts:

Apple Watch Activity Rings:

Get fit & Organised with Apple this 2020:

Apple Watch Sport Loops

3 views

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page