top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

Black Friday Shopping Events & Digital Addiction

Introduction:


It feels good to be writing something again and my main reason for even doing this blog post is to enlighten you that I’m still planning on keeping things moving and I’ll fill you in a little later but first I want to have a look at what’s happening in the world of technology just like old times before the holiday season really kicks in!


Tech-News, Or lack of:


Looking around at several news sites including all my usual and even using Apple News for the first time on my Mac. It was exactly what I thought and there really isn’t much happening now. Most companies are boasting about how cool their products are and why you should choose them this Christmas.


I’m bored of “Black Friday” shopping events:


As I’m writing this it is Black Friday weekend, and I don’t know how it was over in the states where Black Friday sales originate from but over here in the UK I couldn’t even make it out to be a day any different to the others. Not one person going mad and not one fight. It does make me wonder if in a couple more years black Friday sales will still exist here in the UK especially as we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here either. All it is a reason for the shops to “have a sale now”. I personally am bored of it as “Black Friday” seems to go on for at least 2 weeks with “Black Friday One day events”, “Cyber Monday” & “The Black Friday Run-up event” (last’s normally 7 days).


TikTok & Digital Addiction:


Opening Apple News on my Mac for the first time led to exactly what I thought, Disappointment. I do wonder how many people use it on the Mac. It is useful on the iPhone especially when it comes to breaking news notifications but normally, I would just use Safari.


There was one interesting article worth looking at that though and that is all about “Digital addiction” something that talks about the dependence on phones & social media. It is very much a 21st century problem and something I think in 20 years more time could be impacting a lot of people.


Making it worse is apps like “TikTok”. Personally, I like how the app encourages people to be creative and using the app you can create some cool little videos with all the easy-to-use effects that come in the app. However, the amount of time on the app doing this in comparison to the amount of time spent just sat there scrolling is massive. Without even realising it opening the app to have a “quick look at it” for 5 minutes can turn in to 5 hours quite easily.


Writing this is going to make me sound like an old person in their late 40’s but it very noticeable in young people. I was interested in seeing what the screentime was for someone who is a fan of the app so I asked my friend who is 3 years younger than me on a Sunday what his screentime was for the week on TikTok and it was currently at 28 hours for that week (Then he went back to it). My Screen Time for TikTok that week was 24 minutes & my iPhone total Screen Time was 31 Hours. I’m not going to judge him for that because I know there are thousands more that will have the same if not worse. Knowing that his Screen Time on TikTok was so much to me it was a clear sign of “Digital Addiction” which is why in the future I do think it’s going to be more of a problem.


Like I said at the beginning the article is worth a read on Apple News & you can do so here:


What Have I Been Up To?


So, I haven’t been posting much recently on my Blog or even Twitter. I didn’t even cover the new iPad launches when normally I would! I have been busy with some other projects though and have been spending A LOT of time working on some “Software” I have been creating & designing with Microsoft Excel. (My average Screen-Time on that being around 7 hours each week)


The reason for me writing this post mainly was because I was spending some time working on Excel and needed to write a paragraph for something and it made me think about how much I had missed writing. For the remainder of the year, I know that there isn’t going to be much more content coming from me. This is because I will be working on finishing my Microsoft Excel project followed by working on my plans to renovate my website & online portfolio. I can promise that I’m planning on writing 2 more blog posts this year. My opinion with a look at the best technology this holiday season and a review on a MacOS application.


Future-Proofing:


Going forward with my blog, next year I want to make it more accessible so I’m publishing this blog post in three formats. One being the blog post it’s self which is what will be written first. Then I will read it aloud and record it. Making the post available to listen via your favourite podcast provider. Then I will make bullet points of key points and record a video in my YouTube channels “Different” format.


I’m doing this with this blog post as a way of testing the idea & see what I can do better so when I do it with every blog in the coming year I can make it the best I possibly can but I will need your help! Check them out and please give me your feedback. Tweet me here and let me know -> www.twitter.com/kylewilkinson46


Thanks for reading,


Kyle Wilkinson

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια

Βαθμολογήθηκε με 0 από 5 αστέρια.
Δεν υπάρχουν ακόμη βαθμολογίες

Προσθέστε μια βαθμολογία
bottom of page