top of page
IMG_70ADDA8D7F00-1.jpeg

Kyle Wilkinson Blog

  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilkinson

Harry Potter Wizards Unite - My thoughts.

Instead of writing about Apple all the time I decided to write about something else new this week and it’s all about Niantic’s newest game “Harry Potter Wizards Unite” If you have seen my YouTube video of when Pokémon Go first came out you would of seen I was one of the early adaptors of this game. I can remember when the game was so laggy that sometimes the game wouldn’t even load. This was because Pokémon Go was so unexpectedly popular that Niantic’s servers simply couldn’t handle the amount of players. This new game is not like that.


Gameplay:


Just like Ingress and Pokémon Go, WU used the same map and same “Stops”. These could be either three buildings, Inns where you can generally get Magic and Ingredients. There is also Greenhouses where you can get the same things but you can also grow Ingredients that you need using Seeds and water. The third building type is a Fortress these are for fighting foes and completing wizarding challenges.

Confoundables will appear on the screen as a glowing icon depending on which type there are in the registry. You press them and often you have to save them from something attacking or trapping them. To do this you have to swipe the magic on the screen in the same way that is shown on the screen.

The magic could resist you, if you take too long or you swipe the magic poorly the spell is less effective.


Pokémon GO:


To me this game feels very similar to Pokemon Go, In this game you have to basically fill in a sticker book by saving Foundables. In Pokémon Go you have to Fill in a Pokedex by catching Pokémon and evolving them. Seems similar to me.


Problems:


Pokémon Go had a very strong start and this game has had not had the strongest start. For example Pokémon Go in its first 4 days made £22 million and WU has only made £880,000.[1] The problem is too many limitations I think.

You can use nearly up to 5 magic on catching a confoundable and sometimes more if you’re doing a wizarding challenge. Magic goes down a lot quicker then Poke balls in Go. You also seem to be constantly greeted with the screen saying “Ingredient’s full! Buy 30 more storage for 150 coins.” I’ve added 60 storage already and even now it keeps telling me its full. This is a real problem and seems really pointless having the ingredients in there when I can’t complete a potion I want to do because I don’t have enough space. To buy 150 coins as well you’d have to buy the 425 gold pack which is £4.99 because only 80 gold is £0.99, want more magic that is 100 gold.


In summary I am going to give this game time. It may improve, I still play Pokemon Go and look how much that has come along. I look forward to what they bring to this game but I do think they need to make it easier to get magic and make it 50+ extra storage for 150 coins. 30 every time is not enough.


Follow me on Twitter to see how I get along with the game. @kylewilkinson46

Also you can now view my blog on its own site at www.kylewilkinsonblog.com


Until next time,


Kyle Wilkinson




Kyle Wilkinson Online – www.kylewilkinsononline.com

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page